From happy accidents, great ideas can spring.

What if The New Testament began as a sort of medieval ‘Shit My Dad Says’, with people only much later thinking, ‘hmm, maybe there’s actually something in this…’?

Improbable?

Not impossible.

And maybe one day Steve Wozniak, mental with hunger, asked Steve Jobs for an apple – only for Jobs to misunderstand and think he was suggesting a name for their company.

It could’ve happened, maybe.

The other day I experienced something similar watching the trailer for a horror movie called ‘The Unfolding’.

Right at the end of the trailer, there was a line that well and truly pricked my ears up.

What was that line?

“There’s something in the cheese.”

I was gobsmacked.

I felt like I’d shat myself.

A horror movie all about cheese.

It seemed too insanely brilliant to be true.

(It was: rewatching the trailer later, I realised the line’s actually “There’s something in the trees.”)

But why shouldn’t it be?

The horror genre badly needs a blast of fresh air – and what could be fresher than cheese?

(Apart from that stinky French shit.)

So thanks to this accidental thunderbolt of brilliance, I was busy the first few days of 2017 outlining a brand new horror script.

Working title?

‘Yellow Peril’.

Working tagline?

‘Cheese screams are made of these’.

I’m not suggesting it’s going to be a new worldwide religion.

I’m not saying it’s going to revolutionise everyone’s lives and turn me and a fat wookie mate into billionaires.

But what ‘Psycho’ did for the shower… it might just do for fondue.

